Grocery Shopping Part Two: Lists

The next part of any grocery shopping trip for me is making the list. In this post I’ll show you two types of grocery list: The everyday list where you’re shopping for a week of food, like we planned last time, and the brand-new-kitchen list.

Weekly Shopping

img_20170425_093426536_hdr.jpg

Last time we talked about recipe math and planning for leftovers. Today I want to show you how my grocery lists usually look:

As you can see, I arrange them by recipe (marked by *Title*) and then ingredient.

I also usually have a category for Staples which are things my husband and I have all the time for miscellaneous food.

I usually jot down this version of the grocery list while I’m picking recipes. It’s helpful to have the cookbooks out and work through them side by side.

IMG_20170425_094234941_HDR

Forgive the scratches, this is an older list.

However, I almost always re-write my list by store.

This is because G-free shopping is hit-or-miss at one location, especially on a budget. I find it extremely beneficial to go to multiple stores that I know carry what I want. For instance, Aldi.

I always try to get as much as I can at Aldi, because their “Live G-Free” line is fantastic and their prices are phenomenal. I usually get veggies, meats, fruit, coffee, eggs, milk, and as much frozen there as I can.

My next step is Walmart, because they are on average $0.50-1.00 cheaper than a traditional grocery store.

This always makes my last stop the normal local grocery, such as Jewel or Schnucks. These places will have higher prices, so I save them for the “I can’t find this anywhere else” items.

By organizing my lists by store, I can go in order from cheapest to most expensive and whittle down my shopping very efficiently.

Starter List

If this is your first time setting up a g-free kitchen, here are my recommended staples:

I highly recommend going to Aldi first. And this list can/should be tailored to foods you are comfortable making.

Basics for a new G-free cook:

  • Brownie or Cookie Mix (Live G-Free)
  • Pancake Mix/toppings
  • Lunchmeats
  • Cheese (Sliced or shredded)
  • Milk or almond milk
  • Orange juice
  • Eggs
  • ONE loaf of g-free bread for sandwiches (It goes bad quickly so one loaf is all you need)
  • Fresh/Frozen veggies, some for sandwiches some for salads, some for cooking
  • Fresh/Frozen fruit for snacking or smoothies
  • Meats you are comfortable cooking (or vegetarian proteins if that’s your thing)
  • G-Free pasta/sauce

Those items will feed one g-free person for a week. It won’t be overly exciting or varied, but it will feed a person. Those are also staples not recipe based. If you plan recipes before hand your food will go farther.

Next time we’ll talk about reading labels! One of my least favorite necessary hobbies.

3 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping Part Two: Lists

  1. colleencarie says:

    Weekly shopping is a chore! May I recommend building up a pantry? I have “stock-up prices” on certain items. For example, I know that I can get cream cheese at Kroger for $1 a block during certain times of the year. When it goes on sale, I buy 12. Recently, butter was on sale for 2 for $4 at the local grocery. I bought 6 lbs.

    Also, check the other aisles. When I lived in MS, I could buy 10 oz of Tony Cature’s cajun seasoning in the spice aisle for about $2. Instead, I went over to the dollar aisle and bought the same brand, different packaging … 8oz for $1.

    Make sure you check ads!! Granted gluten free does not go on sale often but when it does, the grocery store is cheaper than walmart. BTW, make sure to enter your walmart receipts into the savings catcher in case you miss something 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

